We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Songs From The North

by Bek-Jean Stewart

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $20 AUD  or more


Red Light 03:22


Stewart describes her new album Songs from the North (2019) as a response to: "the push me / pull you of a fucked-up, ultimately destructive love. Sometimes, I fear that the only way I can truly love someone is to walk away, and love them from a distance."

Grant Shanahan’s expert musicality is also showcased on this record. His skill is heard on drum tracks that hark back to the ‘80s, while his innovative layering of string sounds creates a complex soundscape.

Glenn Thomson, who played piano and synth sounds, writes of playing on the record: "I ended up at a light night dance party where, for a small cover charge, I was drugged and then encouraged to dive deep into Smithdom, but not before just saying no to any further offerings."

The songs on this album are emotionally raw. The authenticity of Stewart's songwriting burns through in tracks as diverse as 'Red Light', with its angry lyrics and hard-hitting musical arrangement, and 'Driving 'Round In The Dark', which harks back to Stewart's early pop sensibilities.

1. Red Light
2. Bells From My Heart
3. No Song Is Heard No Words Are Spoken
4. If I Wander Into The Darkness
5. Come To Me My Love
6. Your Truth Will Bring You Back
7. Trouble Is Where We Reside
8. Toward The Ruin
9. Men In Their Jackets
10. Driving 'Round In The Dark
11. Love Me Like You Got Nothing Left To Lose


released July 6, 2019

Bek-Jean Stewart: vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, drums, percussion, banjo, handclaps.
Grant Shanahan: bass guitar, vocals, keys.
Matt Galvin: electric guitar on tracks 2, 3, 6, 8, 10.
Blue Dalton: dobro and slide guitar.
Peter Kelly: drums on tracks 1, 2, 6, 8, 10, trumpet.
Tim Byron: piano.
Glenn Thomson: strings, keys and piano on tracks 1, 10, 3.

Recorded at Leisure Suit Studios Jan 2018 and Feb 2019.
Engineered by Grant Shanahan.
Mixed at Leisure Suit by Grant and Bek-Jean.
Mastered by William Bowden @ King Willy Sound.
All songs written by Bek-Jean Stewart copyright 2019.
Artwork by Nike Angelique Sulway
Layout Design by Beth Donson Creative
Photography by Jay Black
All due effort has been made to seek permission for use of the cover art image. The image appears to be in the public domain.
Mermaid drawing by George Barbier.


all rights reserved



Bek-Jean Stewart Australia

Bek-Jean Stewart entered the Australian Music scene in the early 90’s as songwriter and singer with indie- pop band Eva Trout. The band was signed by US label Trauma Records and toured both Australia and the United States. She has gone on to make some astonishing solo records, all of which have been lauded by critics in Australia, Europe and the US. She is one of Australia's best kept secrets. ... more

contact / help

Contact Bek-Jean Stewart

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Bek-Jean Stewart, you may also like: